Mark Knopler to release new album 'Tracker'

News 06/03/2015
Mark Knopfler will release his eighth solo album on March 13th 2015 on Universal. Entitled ‘Tracker’ it features 11 new Knopfler songs inspired by a wide range of subjects including Beryl Bainbridge and Basil Bunting. The songs contain Mark’s usual wryly but accurately observed vignettes of real life wrapped up in a musical accompaniment of distinctive subtlety.

As always, Knopfler allows the musicians space in the recordings to put their own stamp on the material but never interfering in the essence of the song itself. His warm tones of both vocal and guitar combine to give the album it’s unique MK feel. A dazzling collection of new songs makes this release possibly his most satisfying solo work so far.

Tracker has been produced by Knopfler and Guy Fletcher and was recorded at British Grove Studios in London. The band features Mark Knopfler on guitars, Guy Fletcher on keyboards, John McCusker on fiddle, Mike McGoldrick on whistle and flute, Glenn Worf on bass and Ian Thomas on drums. Guest musicians include Ruth Moody (from The Wailin’ Jennys) on vocals, Nigel Hitchcock on saxophone and Phil Cunningham on accordion.

Knopfler says: “The album title ‘Tracker’ arrived out of me trying to find my way over the decades. Out of me tracking time - looking at people, places and things from my past, and out of the process of tracking as in recording tracks in the studio."

‘Tracker’ will be available on CD, double vinyl, deluxe CD with four bonus tracks, and a lavish box set (exclusive to the official store) that will include the album on both CD and vinyl with a bonus CD featuring six extra tracks, a DVD with an exclusive short film directed by Henrik Hansen and an interview with Mark where he talks about the new record. Sleeve notes have been specially written by acclaimed US author Richard Ford and it also contains a numbered art print and six photographic prints.

‘Tracker’ by Mark Knopfler

Standard CD
1 Laughs and Jokes and Drinks and Smokes
2 Basil
3 River Towns
4 Skydiver
5 Mighty Man
6 Broken Bones
7 Long Cool Girl
8 Lights of Taormina
9 Silver Eagle
10 Beryl
11 Wherever I Go featuring Ruth Moody