Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominees for 2018 announced

music news 06/10/2017

The nominees for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame for 2018 have been announced.

This year's group is made up of 19 nominees from a range of different musical genres.

Bon Jovi, The Cars, Dire Straits and J. Geils Band all made the list.

Nine of the nominees are first time nominees.

They are:

  • Bon Jovi
  • Kate Bush
  • The Cars
  • Depeche Mode
  • Dire Straits
  • Eurythmics
  • J. Geils Band
  • Judas Priest
  • LL Cool J
  • MC5
  • The Meters
  • Moody Blues
  • Radiohead
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
  • Nina Simone
  • Sister Rosetta Tharpe
  • Link Wray
  • The Zombies

To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first commercial recording at least 25 years prior to the year of induction which means the 2018 nominees had to release their first official recording no later than 1992.