New Joe Strummer compilation box set due to release in September

music news 02/07/2018

Following the death of English punk legend, Joe Strummer from The Clash in 2002, his extensive archive, with over 20,000 items of his work stored in his back garden was discovered and are now overseen by his widow and Robert Gordon McHarg to archiving and compiling these material for release.

Ignition Records has announced Joe Strummer 001, a compilation which will feature many of Strummer's solo work as well as tracks with the 101ers, the Mescaleros and his post-Clash recordings with ex-bandmate Mick Jones.

Arriving on September 28 in various formats and a super deluxe limited edition box set.

Joe Strummer 001 will include a rare outtake from Sid & Nancy soundtrack cut "Crying on 23rd", a demo of "This is England" and collaborations with Johnny Cash and Jimmy Cliff (See below for the full tracklist).

A recording Strummer and the Mescaleros performing "London is Burning" will also be included in this compilation. The song was reworked as "Burning Streets" on the Streetcore LP, a 2003 posthumous release. 

On top of the rarities, there will be a new hardback book available in the box set and deluxe editions. It is to feature previously unpublished rare memorabilia and technical album notes from Strummer's personal collection as well as historical press reviews.


  1. Letsagetabitarockin
  2. Keys to Your Heart
  3. Love Kills
  4. Tennessee Rain
  5. Trash City
  6. 15th Brigade
  7. Ride Your Donkey
  8. Burning Lights
  9. Afro-Cuban Be-Bop
  10. Sand Paper Blues
  11. Generations
  12. It’s a Rockin’ World
  13. Yalla Yalla
  14. X-Ray Style
  15. Johnny Appleseed
  16. Minstrel Boy
  17. Redemption Song (with Johnny Cash from Johnny Cash: Unearthed)
  18. Over the Border (with Jimmy Cliff from Fantastic Plastic People)
  19. Coma Girl
  20. Silver & Gold
  21. Letsagetabitarockin (Previously Unreleased 1975 Cassette Tape Demo)
  22. Czechoslovak Song / "Where Is England" (Previously Unreleased 1983 Early version of "This Is England")
  23. Pouring Rain (1984, Previously Unreleased)
  24. Blues On the River (1984, Previously Unreleased)
  25. Crying on 23rd (1985, Outtake from Sid & Nancy)
  26. 2 Bullets (1985, with Pearl Harbour; Previously Unreleased)
  27. When Pigs Fly
  28. Pouring Rain
  29. Rose of Erin (Previously Unreleased)
  30. The Cool Impossible (Previously Unreleased 1993 Demo)
  31. London Is Burning (2002, Mescaleros; Previously Unreleased)
  32. US North (1986, Mick Jones from Candy Mountain; Previously Unreleased)

Seven-Inch Single

  1. This is England (Previously Unreleased July 1984 Demo)
  2. Before We Go Forward (Previously Unreleased July 1984 Demo)

Cassette: 'U.S. North Basement Demo'
Recorded 1986, a previously unreleased session featuring Mick Jones discovered in Joe’s cupboard.