Photo credits: Lorne Thomson

Sex Pistol's Glen Matlock announces solo LP 'Good to Go'

music news 29/07/2018

Former member of the Sex Pistols, Glen Matlock, will be releasing a solo album entitled 'Good to Go' this August 24th.

Recruiting old friends Earl Slick (David Bowie's guitarist) and Slim Jim Phantom of the Stray Cats, Matlock says,

It’s a very simple kind of album

“You could call it ‘loud skiffle.’ I was inspired to make it after seeing Bob Dylan at the Royal Albert Hall a few years back. I’m no big fan of his, [but] the band was fantastic. I said to myself, ‘I want to do something like that'" he told Rolling Stone.

Matlock explained in a press release that Earl Slick had brought a feel to the track 'Speak Too Soon' that he thinks Bowie would be proud of.

“It’s quite a departure for me. The basic chord structure is like ‘Spanish Harlem’ or ‘Stand by Me,’ juxtaposed with Earl’s Ebow guitar which is like something from Bowie’s ‘Heroes.’ The sustained sound in the background behind the guitar riff was Earl; it’s pretty off the wall. I said let’s go with it and he built it up.”

WATCH: Glen Matlock perform "God Save The Queen" at DMZ Peace Train Music Fest

Matlock added that “it’s well known I like the Faces and a bit of Bob Dylan, and it’s all incorporated in there somewhere. What changes is the lyric. In the words of [John] Lennon, I’m writing for the kids that have grown up with me. ... When it comes to music, I like some actual music in the music. … It’s quite personal, but there are some tongue-in-cheek funny bits in it. I didn’t set out to write a Sex Pistols album and fail miserably.”

Glen Matlock's "Good to Go" album tracklist:

  1. Won’t Put the Brakes On Me
  2. Wanderlust
  3. Sexy Beast
  4. Speak Too Soon
  5. Piece of Work
  6. Hook in You
  7. Montague Terrace
  8. Cloud Cuckoo Land
  9. Strange Kinda Taste
  10. Chill
  11. Couldn’t Give a Damn
  12. Keep On Pushing