ZZ Top's Billy Gibbons releases new track & details of new album

new music 23/07/2018

ZZ Top frontman Billy Gibbons' second solo album, The Big Bad Blues is due for release this 21st Sept.

“We successfully made our way through those uncharted waters with the Cubano flavour of [first solo album] Perfectamundo and completed the journey,” says Gibbons. “The shift back to the blues is a natural. It’s something which our followers can enjoy with the satisfaction of experiencing the roots tradition and, at the same time, feeling the richness of stretching the art form.”

Along with new details about the album, Billy Gibbons also released a cover of "Rollin' and Tumblin", the album's lead track. Listen below.

The 11-track album is said to focus on Gibbons' lifelong love of the blues and rock n' roll. It showcases blues-influenced vocals and guitar licks that are present in all his hit songs over the past 50 years.

There’s something very primordial within the art form. Nobody gets away from the infectious allure of those straight-ahead licks!

Gibbons' love for the blues and rock n' roll runs deep in his blood. “I suspect Jimmy Reed did me in early on. The inventiveness of that high and lonesome sound remains solid and stridently strong to this day. We could go on to mention the lineup of usual suspects, Howlin’ Wolf, Muddy, all three Kings [B.B., Albert and Freddie]. The lengthy list of champions is forever carved in stone.”

The Big Bad Blues is available for pre-order now. See the tracklist below.

Billy F Gibbons' "The Big Bad Blues" Tracklist

  1. Missin’ Yo’ Kissin’ (Gilly Stillwater cover)
  2. My Baby She Rocks
  3. Second Line
  4. Standing Around Crying (Muddy Waters cover)
  5. Let The Left Hand Know… 
  6. Bring It To Jerome (Jerome Green cover)
  7. That’s What She Said
  8. Mo’ Slower Blues
  9. Hollywood 151
  10. Rollin’ and Tumblin’ (Muddy Waters cover)
  11. Crackin’ Up (Bo Diddley cover)