John Lennon's "Imagine" gets a new massive 6-disc box set

new music 27/08/2018

John Lennon's classic album "Imagine" will be receiving a newly remixed and remastered 140-track collection across six discs due for release on 5th Oct, just days before his birthday.

Authorised and overseen by Lennon's widow, Yoko Ono, the box set includes four CDs and two Blu-ray discs. It will feature "Ultimate Mixes" which is said to reveal "whole new levels of sonic depth, definition and clarity to these timeless songs" as well as "Raw Studio Mixes" where listeners can hear Lennon and the Plastic Ono Band's raw performances. The box set will also have 5.1 surround sound mixes and a four-speaker "Quadrasonic Album Mix" for the first time since the '70s.

The original demo of "Imagine" was also shared via YouTube. Listen below:

The collection also includes many outtakes, rarities and isolated track elements and "The Evolution Documentary", an audio montage detailing each song's process from demo to the master recording.

Two films by Lennon and Ono, "Imagine" and "Gimme Some Truth" with newly remastered and remixed soundtracks will also be released on DVD, Blu-Ray and digital platforms on the same day.

Ascot Sound Studios, 26 May 1971. Credits to Universal Music

Ono is also supervising the production of "Imagine John Yoko", a book about the recording of the album "Imagine" which releases on Lennon's birthday, 9th Oct. Ono has a new album titled "Warzone" which promises a cover of "Imagine" is due for release one week later on 19th Oct.

You can see the full box set listing below.

John Lennon's "John Lennon: Imagine: The Ultimate Collection" Tracklist


  1. Imagine
  2. Crippled Inside
  3. Jealous Guy
  4. It’s So Hard
  5. I Don’t Wanna Be A Soldier Mama I Don’t Wanna Die
  6. Gimme Some Truth
  7. Oh My Love
  8. How Do You Sleep?
  9. How?
  10. Oh Yoko!

The Singles & Extras

  1. Power To The People
  2. Well… (Baby Please Don’t Go)
  3. God Save Us
  4. Do The Oz
  5. God Save Oz
  6. Happy Xmas (War Is Over)

CD2 - The Ultimate Mixes Disc 2

New Mix in Stereo 16-44.1
Elements Mixes and Album & Single Outtakes

Elements Mixes

  1. Imagine (strings only)
  2. Jealous Guy (piano, bass & drums)
  3. Oh My Love (vocals only)
  4. How? (strings only)

Album outttakes

  1. Imagine (demo)
  2. Imagine (take 1)
  3. Crippled Inside (take 3
  4. Crippled Inside (take 6 – alt guitar solo)
  5. Jealous Guy (take 9)
  6. It’s So Hard (take 6)
  7. I Don’t Wanna Be A Soldier Mama I Don’t Wanna Die (take 11)
  8. Gimme Some Truth (take 4)
  9. Oh My Love (take 6)
  10. How Do You Sleep? (takes 1 & 2)
  11. How? (take 31)
  12. Oh Yoko! (Bahamas 1969)

Singles outtakes

  1. Power To The People (take 7)
  2. God Save Us (demo)
  3. Do The Oz (take 3)
  4. Happy Xmas (War Is Over) (alt mix)

CD3 - Raw Studio Mixes

New Mix in Stereo 16-44.1
Extended Album Tracks & Outtakes – Live At Ascot Sound Studios

Extended Album Versions - Live

  1. Imagine (take 10)
  2. Crippled Inside (take 6)
  3. Jealous Guy (take 29)
  4. It’s So Hard (take 11)
  5. I Don’t Wanna Be A Soldier Mama I Don’t Wanna Die (take 4 – extended)
  6. Gimme Some Truth (take 4 – extended)
  7. Oh My Love (take 20)
  8. How Do You Sleep? (take 11 – extended)
  9. How? (take 40
  10. Oh Yoko! (take 1 extended)

Outtakes - Live

  1. Imagine (take 1)
  2. Jealous Guy (take 11)
  3. I Don’t Wanna Be A Soldier Mama I Don’t Wanna Die (take 21)
  4. How Do You Sleep? (take 1)
  5. How Do You Sleep? (takes 5 & 6)

CD 4 - The Evolution Documentary

New Mix in Mono 16-44.1
The story of each song on a journey from demo to master via instructions, rehearsals, recordings, multitrack exploration and studio chat

Blu-ray Disc 1 – Imagine - The Ultimate Mixes 
Remixed Stereo Album, Singles, Extras & Outtakes

'Imagine' - The Album

Singles & Extras
Remix in 5.1 & Stereo 24-96

The Outtakes
New Mix in 5.1 & Stereo 24-96

The Quadrasonic Mixes

Remastered in Quad 4.0 24-96
Original 1971 Quadsonic Album Remastered

Blu-ray Disc 2 – In The Studio and Deeper Listening

The Raw Studio Mixes - Extended Album Versions - Live

New Mix in 5.1 & Stereo 24-96
Experience, in immersive Surround Sound, the moment John and The Plastic Ono Band record each song live, from a sonic soundstage at the center of Ascot Sound Studios at John & Yoko’s home in Tittenhurst

The Raw Studio Mixes - Out-takes - Live

The Elements Mixes
From the Master Multitracks

New Mix in 5.1 & Stereo 24-96
Mixes from elements of the original multitracks that demonstrate some of the instrumentations from ‘behind the scenes’

The Evolution Documentary

New Mix in Mono 24-96
The story of the songs from demo to master in rehearsals, studio chat and mixed multitrack elements

Imagine John & Yoko – The Elliot Mintz Interviews

New Mix in Mono 24-96
Tribute by DJ and family friend Elliot Mintz featuring revealing, philosophical, honest and humorous interviews with John & Yoko.