Steve Perry confirms new album with a music video for his comeback song "No Erasin'"

new music 16/08/2018

Steve Perry has confirmed his upcoming album "Traces" and shares a music video for his comeback song "No Erasin'". The album is due for release on 5th Oct.

There have been many speculations that he would be coming back with a new album as he had recently opened accounts on social media platforms, all with a single video showing "I know it's been a long time comin'..." which is the opening lyrics to "No Erasin'". Amazon has also accidentally leaked the full album tracklist and the cover artwork.

Perry stated that he "disappeared" years ago due to many reasons. "but mainly… my love for music had suddenly left me. I knew that simply stopping, was what I had to do," he wrote.

"If music was ever to return to my heart, then and only then I would figure out what to do. If not … so be it, for I had already lived the dream of dreams," he continued. "Many years passed. One day, I began sketching some musical ideas with the creative freedom that I was the only one who would ever hear them."

One song led to many. My love for music had returned.

“Then another beautiful thing happened. I found love. My precious Kellie gave me a life I never knew I had. I lost her December of 2012. I now deeply understand the meaning of: ‘It’s better to have loved and lost than to have never loved at all.’ May of 2015, I began recording. These songs are special to me. I respectfully ask that you please listen to them, and whatever they make you feel, I thank you for listening.”

The new "Traces" album is said to be Perry's "most vulnerable and honest recording to date". The nine-track album balances enormous loss while "enduring hope and beauty", covering the full spectrum of human emotion and a re-imagined cover of The Beatles' "I Need You".

Available for pre-order now, you can see the new album's confirmed tracklist below. The album will be available as CD, digital download and 180g vinyl as well as signed and limited-edition bundles that feature merchandise and collectables.

There also will be a deluxe edition available on CD and vinyl with five additional songs.

Steve Perry's "Traces" album tracklist:

  1. No Erasin’
  2. We’re Still Here
  3. Most Of All
  4. No More Cryin’
  5. In The Rain
  6. Sun Shines Gray
  7. You Belong To Me
  8. Easy To Love
  9. I Need You
  10. We Fly
  11. October in New York (deluxe edition only)
  12. Angel Eyes (deluxe edition only)
  13. Call On Me (deluxe edition only)
  14. Could We Be Somethin’ Again (deluxe edition only)
  15. Blue Jays Fly (deluxe edition only)