Photo by Phil Dent

Dire Straits' Mark Knopfler announces a new solo album

new music 20/09/2018

Dire Straits' ex-frontman, Mark Knopfler, has announced a new solo album "Down the Road Wherever" will hit the stores on 16th Nov.

The 14-track album marks his ninth solo album since the 2015 album "Tracker". You can see the full track list below.

The album features "unhurriedly elegant new Knopfler songs" that drew inspiration from various topics. Knopfler said in the press release that the album title is part of a lyric of "One Song at a Time" from the same album. He added that it was inspired by his mate, Chet Atkins who once said that he "picked his way out of poverty 'one song at a time'".

"You get to an age where you’ve written quite a few songs. But Down The Road Wherever seems to be appropriate for me just because it’s what I’ve always done. I’ve always tried to make a record and also to keep my own geography happening in the songs.”

Available for pre-order, the album will appear in four formats: Standard CD, Deluxe CD, 2LP and Deluxe LP Box Set.

Mark Knopfler's "Down the Road Wherever" Tracklist:

  1. Trapper Man
  2. Back On The Dance Floor
  3. Nobody’s Child
  4. Just A Boy Away From Home
  5. When You Leave
  6. Good On You Son
  7. My Bacon Roll
  8. Nobody Does That
  9. Drovers' Road
  10. One Song At A Time
  11. Floating Away
  12. Slow Learner
  13. Heavy Up
  14. Matchstick Man