You can listen to David Bowie's "Space Oddity" Demos in a new 50th-anniversary box set

Box Set 10/01/2019

A new vinyl box set featuring nine previously-unreleased demos has been announced to commemorate the 50th anniversary of David Bowie's debut hit album. 

Two early demos of Space Oddity will also be included in "Spying Through a Keyhole" box set. The collection was briefly made available in December via streaming services but was never sold in any physical formats.

Inspired by the lyrics from Love All Around, the "Spying Through a Keyhole" box set is set to hit the stores sometime this Autumn.

A statement on David Bowie's website reads, "Due to the nature of some of the solo home demos where Bowie accompanied himself on acoustic guitar, the recording quality isn’t always of a usual studio fidelity. This is partly due to David’s enthusiastic strumming hitting the red on a couple of the tracks, along with the limitations of the original recording equipment and tape degradation. However, the historical importance of these songs and the fact that the selections are from an archive of tracks cleared for release by Bowie, overrides this shortcoming."

The website also outlined what to expect from each demo, including the two "Space Oddity" demos: one which is potentially the first ever recorded demo; and another that includes alternative lyrics and a duet with John 'Hutch' Hutchinson.

"Space Oddity" originally debuted on 11th July in 1969, just five days before the first manned mission to the moon took off - Apollo 11. The famed track peaked at number one in U.K. charts and number 15 when it was re-released in 1973 and featured Rick Wakeman on Mellotron.

You can see the full tracklist below.

David Bowie, 'Spying Through a Keyhole’ Track Listing

  1. Mother Grey (demo)
  2. In The Heat Of The Morning (demo)
  3. Goodbye 3d (Threepenny) Joe (demo)
  4. Love All Around (demo)
  5. London Bye, Ta-Ta (demo)
  6. Angel, Angel, Grubby Face (demo version 1)
  7. Angel, Angel, Grubby Face (demo version 2)
  8. Space Oddity (demo excerpt)
  9. Space Oddity (demo – alternative lyrics, with John Hutchinson)