Photo by Mike Coppola

WATCH:: Def Leppard, Brian May and more covers 'All The Young Dudes' at Rock Hall Ceremony

live 01/04/2019

Def Leppard closed their induction at the Rock Hall of Fame ceremony on the 29th March by covering Mott the Hoople's 'All the Young Dudes'.

The band also brought out Queen guitarist Brian May, Mott the Hooper lead vocalist Ian Hunter as well as the Zombies' Colin Bluntstone and Rod Argent, Phil Manzanera from Roxy Music, the Bangles' Susannah Hoffs and Steven Van Zandt for the performance.

"There's normally an all-star jam," Def Leppard frontman Joe Elliott addressed the audience, "but this is a little different; more up-to-date, less messy, more classic." He welcomed the rest onto the stage, leaving Hunter for the last to also point out that it's the 45th anniversary of the band's last album, "The Hoople'.

Watch the performance below.

Elliott has always cited Mott the Hoople as his major inspiration and had formed a side band, Down 'n' Outz, as a tribute to his heroes. "I think they’re criminally ignored for God knows how many decades when people just go on and on about [Led] Zeppelin and the [Rolling] Stones and the Beatles and rightfully so," he once told UCR in 2014. "But it comes a point when it’s like: “Well, sometimes the underdog needs reexamining,” whether it be Humble Pie, Spooky Tooth or Mott the Hoople, which just happened to be my favourite band."

He also revealed that in his will, he wishes for 'All the Young Dudes' and 'Rest in Peace' by Mott the Hoople to be played at his funeral.