Photo by William Snyder

WATCH: The Who kicks off their orchestral tour

live 09/05/2019

The Who has recently kicked off their 'Moving On!' tour, complete with an orchestra at Van Andel Arena, Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Pete Townshend addressed the audience as they opened the show, "Great to see you guys! Grand Rapids, Grand River… grand occasion." 

The band then launched into the first five songs from 'Tommy' – Overture, It's A Boy, 1921, Amazing Journey and Sparks.

The band continued with more tracks from 'Tommy' and 'Quadrophenia', with the orchestra taking a break mid-performance for the Who to play four songs on their own.

The band ended the set with the famed song, 'Baba O'Riley' with an experimental violin solo by Katie Jacoby. Townshend thanked the elated crowd for its support.

He also mentioned that he was experiencing some tension from having to perform with some discipline to keep in time with the orchestra.

Roger Daltrey notes that it was great to see "old faces and new ones" and that he's "lucky to be around" at his age.

Watch their performances and see the setlist below.

The Who 'Moving On!' tour, May 7, 2019 Set List

  1. Overture
  2. It’s A Boy
  3. 1921
  4. Amazing Journey
  5. Sparks
  6. The Acid Queen
  7. Pinball Wizard
  8. We’re Not Gonna Take It
  9. Who Are You
  10. Imagine a Man
  11. Eminence Front
  12. Join Together
  13. The Kids Are Alright (The Who only)
  14. Won’t Get Fooled Again (The Who only, acoustic)
  15. Behind Blue Eyes (The Who only)
  16. Join Together (The Who only)
  17. I’m One
  18. The Punk Meets the Godfather
  19. 5.15
  20. The Rock
  21. Love Reign O’er Me
  22. Baba O’Riley