Beatles announce expanded 40-song 'Abbey Road' reissue collection

New 09/08/2019

As confirmed by Ringo Starr, the Beatles have officially announced the expanded box-set reissue for the 1969 album, 'Abbey Road'.

Due for release on 27th September, the 12-times platinum penultimate album will be getting a new remix for the album's original 17 tracks. Fans will have the choice of stereo, high-res stereo, 5.1 surround and Dolby Atmos.

The box set will be including 23 session recordings and demos, most of them are previously-unreleased, a 100-page hardbound book filled with essays, never-seen-before photos by Linda McCartney and memorabilia.

The reissue will be featuring bonus tracks like 'The Long One' which features 'Abbey Road's' Side Two medley in its original sequence as well as an early recording of 'I Want You (She's So Heavy)' that was recorded after noise complaints from neighbours. A McCartney demo of 'Goodbye' that was meant for Mary Hopkin can also be found in this box set.

Available for pre-order now, the super-deluxe set features 40 songs on 3CDs and one Blu-ray disc, with the hardbound book. The limited-edition deluxe vinyl box set will include all tracks on three 180-gram vinyl LPs.

"The magic comes from the hands playing the instruments, the blend of the Beatles' voices, the beauty of the arrangements," producer Giles Martin says. "Our quest is simply to ensure everything sounds as fresh and hits you as hard as it would have on the day it was recorded."

See the full tracklist below.

Super Deluxe box set

The Beatles' 'Abbey Road' box set reissue track list:

CD 1 (2019 Stereo Mix)

  1. Come Together
  2. Something
  3. Maxwell's Silver Hammer
  4. Oh! Darling
  5. Octopus's Garden
  6. I Want You (She's So Heavy)
  7. Here Comes The Sun
  8. Because
  9. You Never Give Me Your Money
  10. Sun King
  11. Mean Mr Mustard
  12. Polythene Pam
  13. She Came In Through The Bathroom Window
  14. Golden Slumbers
  15. Carry That Weight
  16. The End
  17. Her Majesty

CD 2 (Sessions)

  1. I Want You (She's So Heavy) (Trident Recording Session & Reduction Mix)
  2. Goodbye (Home Demo)
  3. Something (Studio Demo)
  4. The Ballad Of John And Yoko (Take 7)
  5. Old Brown Shoe (Take 2)
  6. Oh! Darling (Take 4)
  7. Octopus's Garden (Take 9)
  8. You Never Give Me Your Money (Take 36)
  9. Her Majesty (Takes 1–3)
  10. Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight (Takes 1–3 / Medley)
  11. Here Comes The Sun (Take 9)
  12. Maxwell's Silver Hammer (Take 12)

CD 3 (Sessions)

  1. Come Together (Take 5)
  2. The End (Take 3)
  3. Come And Get It (Studio Demo)
  4. Sun King (Take 20)
  5. Mean Mr Mustard (Take 20)
  6. Polythene Pam (Take 27)
  7. She Came In Through The Bathroom Window (Take 27)
  8. Because (Take 1 – Instrumental)
  9. The Long One (Trial Edit & Mix – 30 July 1969) 
  10. (Medley: You Never Give Me Your Money, Sun King, Mean Mr Mustard, Her Majesty, Polythene Pam, She Came In Through The Bathroom Window, Golden Slumbers, Carry That Weight, The End)
  11. Something (Take 39 – Instrumental – Strings Only)
  12. Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight (Take 17 – Instrumental – Strings & Brass Only)

BLU-RAY: Abbey Road 

Audio Features:

  • Dolby Atmos
  • 96kHz/24 bit DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
  • 96kHz/24 bit High Res Stereo (2019 Stereo Mix)