WATCH: Steely Dan launch 'Sweet' tour

watch 31/08/2019

Steely Dan kicked off their Sweet tour this week in Youngstown, Ohio, fronted by Donald Fagen - the only original member still remaining in the group.

Tearing through a 19-song set featuring a mix of classic hits and lesser-known rarities, the group started the night by warming the crowd with a cover of 'Teenie's Blues', an instrumental tune by Oliver Nelson. Fagen then joined the band, leading it through 'Sign in Stranger', a song off the 1976 LP The Royal Scam

Other highlights of the set included the hits 'Hey Nineteen', 'Peg' and 'Aja', the title track from Steely Dan's aclaimed 1977 album. 

'Ricky Don't Lose That Number' got the audience dancing, while performances of 'Bad Sneakers' and 'Third World Man' shone a light on some of the band's deeper album cuts. 

Steely Dan performed a soaring rendition of their 1972 classic 'Reelin' in the Years' as an encore. You can watch fan-filmed footage of the encore above. 

Here's the full set list for the show:

1. "Teenie's Blues" (Oliver Nelson cover)
2. "Sign in Stranger"
3. "Black Friday"
4. "Hey Nineteen"
5. "Aja"
6. "Time Out of Mind"
7. "Bad Sneakers"
8. "Kid Charlemagne"
9. "Rikki Don't Lose That Number"
10. "The Goodbye Look" (Donald Fagen song)
11. "Dirty Work"
12. "Peg"
13. "Third World Man"
14. "Keep That Same Old Feeling" (The Crusaders cover)
15. "I Got the News"
16. "Bodhisattva"
17. "My Old School"
18. "Reelin' in the Years"
19. "A Man Ain't Supposed to Cry" (Joe Williams cover)