LISTEN: Ronnie Wood sets Chuck Berry tribute album

New 05/10/2019

Ronnie Wood has announced the release of a new album with his side band (Ronnie Wood with His Wild Five) that will honor one of his musical heroes. The album, titled 'Mad Lad: A Live Tribute to Chuck Berry', will be released on November 15th 2019.

The 11-track album was recorded live at Wimborne's Tivoli Theatre in 2018, with guest appearances from singer Imelda May and pianist Ben Waters. It includes performances of Berry classics such as 'Little Queenie', 'Back in the USA' and 'Johnny B. Goode', as well as a Wood original, 'Tribute to Chuck Berry' and 'Worried Life Blues' written by Maceo Merriweather. You can see the full tracklisting below. 

The album artwork was hand-painted by Wood, and will be available as a CD and a heavyweight vinyl release. It will also be available as a deluxe or super deluxe limited-edition box set. 

This will be the first in a trilogy to be recorded by Wood and the band in the coming years, each paying tribute to Wood’s musical heroes. He chose Berry for the first album as he has been a lifelong fan, has toured with him and also, to honor his passing in 2017.

Listen to 'Rock ‘n’ Roll Music' featuring singer Imelda May from the upcoming album above, and 'Talking About You' below. 

Ronnie Wood's Mad Lad Tracklist
1. Tribute to Chuck Berry
2. Talking About You
3. Mad Lad
4. Wee Wee Hours Feat Imelda May
5. Almost Grown Feat Imelda May
6. Back In The USA
7. Blue Feeling
8. Worried Life Blues
9. Little Queenie
10. Rock ‘N’ Roll Music Feat Imelda May
11. Johnny B Goode