New John Lennon box set celebrates his 80th birthday

New 27/08/2020

A new compilation will be released on John Lennon's birthday on 9th October, titled 'Gimme Some Truth. The Ultimate Mixes'.

Handpicked by Lennon's widow, Yoko Ono and son, Sean Lennon, the collection features 36 songs on two CDs tht were remixed from scratch, "radically upgrading their sonic quality".

A deluxe edition of the box set includes an additional 124-page book and a Blu-ray featuring songs in various high-definition audio formats.

The box set is sequenced in a chronological order with stand-alone singles, 'Happy Xmas (War is Over) and 'Give Peace a Chance' rounding out the album.

You can listen to a remixed rendition of 'Instant Karma! (We All Shine On) 'and see the tracklist below.

4LP box set

"John was a brilliant man with a great sense of humour and understanding," Ono wrote in the accompanying book. "He believed in being truthful and that the power of the people will change the world. And it will. All of us have the responsibility to visualise a better world for ourselves and our children. The truth is what we create. It's in our hands."

The album is available for pre-order now.

John Lennon, 'Gimme Some Truth. The Ultimate Mixes' Tracklist


  1. Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)
  2. Cold Turkey
  3. Working Class Hero
  4. Isolation
  5. Love
  6. God
  7. Power to the People
  8. Imagine
  9. Jealous Guy
  10. Gimme Some Truth
  11. Oh My Love
  12. How Do You Sleep?
  13. Oh Yoko!
  14. Angela
  15. Come Together (live)
  16. Mind Games
  17. Out the Blue
  18. I Know (I Know)


  1. Whatever Gets You Thru the Night
  2. Bless You
  3. #9 Dream
  4. Steel and Glass
  5. Stand by Me
  6. Angel Baby
  7. (Just Like) Starting Over
  8. I'm Losing You
  9. Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)
  10. Watching the Wheels
  11. Woman
  12. Dear Yoko
  13. Every Man Has a Woman Who Loves Him
  14. Nobody Told Me
  15. I'm Stepping Out
  16. Grow Old With Me
  17. Happy Xmas (War Is Over)
  18. Give Peace a Chance


All of the above 36 tracks, available in high-definition audio as:

  1. HD Stereo Audio Mixes (24 bit/96 kHz)
  2. HD 5.1 Surround Sound Mixes (24 bit/96 kHz)
  3. HD Dolby Atmos Mixes