WATCH: The Jimi Hendrix Experience plays Voodoo Child live in Maui 1970

live 14/11/2020

Check out this 16mm colour film shot of The Jimi Hendrix Experience performing 'Voodoo Child' live in Maui on 30th July 1970 below.

How unreal is the colour and video quality? It's so clear that the wrapped up the mics that prevents wind noises are so visible (and the listeners grooving to the song).

The performance was released to tease a new collection that will be released on 20th November, titled 'Live in Maui'.

The box set chronicles the band's storied visit to Maui and their performances on the dormant lower crater of Haleakala volcano on Maui. You can see the full tracklist below and pre-order it via here.

The Jimi Hendrix Experience's 'Live in Maui' tracklist:

First Show

  1. Chuck Wein Introduction
  2. Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)
  3. In From The Storm
  4. Foxey Lady
  5. Hear My Train A-Comin'
  6. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
  7. Fire
  8. Purple Haze
  9. Spanish Castle Magic
  10. Lover Man
  11. Message to Love

Second Show

  1. Dolly Dagger
  2. Villanova Junction
  3. Ezy Ryder
  4. Red House
  5. Freedom
  6. Jam Back at the House
  7. Straight Ahead
  8. Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)/Midnight Lightning
  9. Stone Free